B I B L I O G R A P H Y

 

C/Net

http://cnet.com/Content/Reviews/Compare/Search2/ss11.html?st.cn.nws.rl.cn

Internet Teaching Library, University of California, Berkeley

http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/TeachingLib/Guides/Internet/FindInfo.html#Outlin

Search Engine Watch

http://www.searchenginewatch.com

ZD/Net

http://www.zdnet.com/products/stories/reviews/0,4161,367982,00.html

 

 

A P P E N D I X

The following search sites were used in the examples and case studies. Many more search sites exist, and the user is encouraged to investigate the many possibilities the Internet provides.

Directories:

Excite http://www.excite.com

Look Smart http://www.looksmart.com/

Yahoo http://www.yahoo.com

General-purpose search engines:

Alta Vista http://www.altavista.com

Galaxy http://lmc.einet.net/galaxy.html

Google!© http://www.Google!©.com

Hotbot© http://www.Hotbot©.com

InfoSeek http://www.infoseek.com

Netscape Search http://home.netscape.com/

Northern Light http://www.northernlight.com

 

 

Meta-search

All-In-One http://www.albany.net/allinone/all1www.html

Beaucoup http://www.beaucoup.com

Cyber 411 http://209.116.217.64/main.htm

Dogpile http://www.dogpile.com

Internet Sleuth http://www.isleuth.com/

Metacrawler http://www.go2net.com/search.html

Health search

Health A to Z http://www.healthatoz.com

MayoHealth http://www.mayohealth.org/

MedHunt http://www.hon.ch/MedHunt/

MedHunters http://www.medhunters.com/

Medical Matrix http://www.medmatrix.org/

Medline® (PubMed, Internet Grateful Med) http://www.nlm.nih.gov/databases/freemedl.html

Medline® Plus http://Medline®plus.nlm.nih.gov/Medline®plus/

Medscape http://www.medscape.com/

MedWeb http://www.medweb.emory.edu/MedWeb/

National Library of Medicine Search http://www.nlm.nih.gov/

NIH Search http://search.info.nih.gov/

Pharm Info Net http://pharminfo.com/

Other Search Sites

Ahoy http://ahoy.cs.washington.edu:6060/

Argus Clearinghouse http://www.clearinghouse.net/

Ask Jeeves http://www.askjeeves.com/

Centers for Disease Control http://www.cdc.gov/

CNN http://www.cnn.com/

DejaNews http://x11.dejanews.com/

E-Blast (Encyclopedia Britannica) http://www.ebig.com/

Electric Library http://www.elibrary.com/

Hytelnet http://library.usask.ca/hytelnet/us0/us000med.html

Librarian's Index to the Internet http://sunsite.berkeley.edu/InternetIndex/

Liszt http://www.liszt.com/

Tilenet http://tile.net/